The Oregon Association of Student Councils is a non-profit member association, serving middle and high schools throughout the state. We provide leadership development to both students and advisers. Our program is sponsored by the Coalition of Oregon School Administrators (COSA), and we are recognized by the National Student Council. We are governed by an Executive Board of 10 adults and 11 students. Our original constitution was written in 1949, and since that time, OASC has become the premier student leadership organization in Oregon. Each year we serve thousands of students and advisers from member schools across the state.

2019-2020 Winners: 

Gold High Schools: Adrian High School, Century High School, Clatskanie High School, Glencoe High School, Hermiston High School, Hillsboro High School, McMinnville High School, Milwaukie High School, Mountainside High School, Oregon City High School, Redmond High School, Santiam Sr. High School, Scappoose High School, South Medford High School, St. Helens High School, Taft High School, Tualatin High School

Silver High Schools: Clackamas High School, Lake Oswego High School

Bronze High Schools: Crater Academy of Health and Public Service, Pacific High School

Gold Middle Schools: Fleming Middle School, South Middle School

Silver Middle Schools: Driftwood Middle School

Bronze Middle Schools: Sandstone Middle School

Advisor of the Year Awards

An effective student council or leadership group can be one of the most valuable assets any school can have. Behind every effective student council or leadership group is a dedicated advisor who guides and empowers students. These advisors are some of the hardest working people in your school.

An advisor may be nominated by their principal, their students, or an advisor from another school. Please complete the enclosed nomination form, along with appropriate letters of recommendation, in a Google Doc or in PDF format to no later than Thursday, April 1st 2021.

High School and Mid-Level Council Recognition Awards

We made it through 2020!  As you plan the rest of your school year, I hope that you will include applying for an OASC Council Award. The OASC Student Council Recognition Program looks quite a bit different this year. But despite the limitations that schools have faced due to Covid, we have seen our students display unparalleled ingenuity, resourcefulness, resilience and empathy during these difficult times, and they deserve all the recognition in the world for surviving – and thriving – during a global pandemic. 

The intentions of the OASC Council Awards are 3-fold:

  1. To be a goal setting and planning tool for advisers and student leaders as they outline out their year
  2. To be used as an evaluation tool throughout the year to help you see what you’ve accomplished and stay focused on what you are striving for
  3. A method whereby OASC can recognize member schools within the state

Meet Your Student Executive Council

Taylor Hayes

State President

Oregon City HS

Love Valdez

At-Large Rep

Hillsboro HS

Brody Gobler

At-Large Rep

Redmond HS

Ji Reichle

Metro Rep - West

Lake Oswego HS

Jojo Albright

Metro Rep - East

Milwaulkie HS

Laney Hyder

Northwest Rep

McMinnville HS

Rory Petersen

Mid-West Rep

Oregon Charter Academy

Guinevere Thompson

Southern Rep

North Valley HS

Alyssa Samuel

Central Rep

Mountain View HS

Grace Lind

Eastern Rep

Hermiston HS

Mia Reese

Mid-Level Rep

North Middle School

Sienna Lilliebo

Mid-Level Rep

Taft 7-12

OASC Regions

  • Metro Region
  • Northwest Region
  • Central Region
  • Mid-West Region
  • Southern Region
  • Eastern Region
  • Clackamas County
  • Multnomah County
  • Washington County

Clatsop County
Columbia County
Tillamook County
Yamhill County

  • Crook County
  • Deschutes County
  • Hood River County
  • Jefferson County
  • Sherman County
  • Wasco County
  • Benton County
  • Lane County
  • Linn County
  • Marion County
  • Lincoln County
  • Polk County
  • Coos County
  • Curry County
  • Douglas County
  • Jackson County
  • Josephine County
  • Klamath County
  • Lake County
  • Baker County
  • Gilliam County
  • Grant County
  • Harney County
  • Malheur County
  • Morrow County
  • Umatilla County
  • Union County
  • Wallowa County
  • Wheeler County

Capitol Ambassadors Program

The OASC Capitol Ambassadors Program is an innovative, first-of-its-kind program that engages high school students in politics and public policy. This is an exciting opportunity for high school student leaders across Oregon to gain firsthand experience, connect with other student leaders, and develop real-world skills. OASC CAP is perfect for any student passionate about making a difference and interested in becoming a stronger leader.

Over the last three years, CAP students visited the State Capitol, met with Governor Brown and leaders of the Department of Education, interviewed legislators, learned how to build compelling resumes and cover letters, and testified before the House Education Committee on the student perspective in education policy. We will select a group of around 25 students to be members of the fourth class of OASC Capitol Ambassadors Program; we are looking for high school students of all ages, from all over Oregon, and with all kinds of backgrounds and interests. They will represent OASC and their peers from across the state. New and returning students are welcome to apply. This program is completely non-partisan and students of all belief systems are welcome.

Our participants for the 2020-2021 Capitol Ambassadors Program have already been selected. Please look out for more openings in August 2021. If you have any questions, please email Miles Palacios (

Advisor of the Year

Sara Cole (left), Erik Reinholt (right)

Do you think you have the best leadership advisor? Show them how much they are appreciated by nominating them for advisor of the year! 


Past Winners Include:

2019     Sarah Cole, Hillsboro High School
2018     Erik Reinholt, Mountainside High School (Beaverton SD) 
2017     Julie Kasper, Century High School  (Hillsboro SD)
2016     Mckenzie Coulson, Tigard High School  
2015     Linda Romey, Perrydale Jr./Sr. High School
2014     Kelle Angel, South Albany High School
2013     Mike Verhulst, Parkrose High School
2012     Shelley Lute, Happy Valley Middle School  (North Clackamas SD)
2011     Cami Beatty, Oregon City High School

Oregon Association of Student Councils

About | Donate | Events | Blog | Photos | Contact