OASC Students help bring Mental Health Days to Oregon Schools

A new law in Oregon allows students to take “mental health days” just as they would sick days.

(From Left to Right) Sam Adamson, Lori Riddle, Hailey Hardcastle, Derek Evans

Former OASC President, Hailey Hardcastle and At-Large Rep Derek Evans helped champion the mental health bill which will allow “mental health days” just as they would take a sick day. You can read more about the story in the following links: (Special Thanks to Kristen Downey of Providence Health & Services for putting these links together.)

AP story: https://www.apnews.com/b2ce8f6a019846f7844f59af449ad567

Oregonian: https://www.oregonlive.com/education/2019/07/teen-activists-win-excused-mental-health-days-for-oregon-students.html

KGW: https://www.kgw.com/article/news/education/teen-activists-score-mental-health-days-for-oregon-students/283-32e76736-f658-438c-944f-2cefcf0104c8

KOIN: https://www.koin.com/news/oregon-student-activists-score-mental-health-days/

KATU: https://katu.com/features/kind-is-better/teen-activists-score-mental-health-days-for-oregon-students-07-22-2019-020649081

KTVZ: https://www.ktvz.com/news/oregon-teen-activists-score-mental-health-days-for-students/1097937456

NBC News: https://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/new-bill-allows-oregon-students-take-mental-health-days-n1032141

ABC News: https://abcnews.go.com/Health/wireStory/feeling-blue-oregon-students-mental-health-days-64470354

NY Post: https://nypost.com/2019/07/22/oregon-approves-mental-health-days-for-students/

Washington Post: https://www.washingtonpost.com/national/health-science/feeling-blue-oregon-students-can-take-mental-health-days/2019/07/21/c93b8252-abd0-11e9-9411-a608f9d0c2d3_story.html?noredirect=on&utm_term=.e0ce048a8eaf

Time: https://time.com/5631238/oregon-students-mental-health-days/

BBC News: https://www.bbc.com/news/newsbeat-49070822

Huff Post: https://www.huffpost.com/entry/oregon-mental-health-day-teens_n_5d34bdf2e4b004b6adb1871a

Kaiser Health News: https://khn.org/morning-breakout/oregon-bill-would-give-students-a-mental-health-day-florida-schools-will-be-required-to-provide-students-with-mental-health-education/

The Hill: https://thehill.com/homenews/state-watch/454081-oregon-students-able-to-take-mental-health-day-under-new-bill

Daily Beast: https://www.thedailybeast.com/oregon-adopts-mental-health-days-as-excused-absence-for-students

The Blaze: https://www.theblaze.com/news/ready-mental-health-days-now-among-excused-school-absences-in-oregon-students-who-pushed-for-change-say-its-not-coddling

The Weekly: https://theweek.com/speedreads/854072/innovative-new-law-allows-oregon-students-take-mental-health-days

Newser: https://www.newser.com/story/278112/oregon-students-win-right-to-take-mental-health-days.html

The Morning Call: https://www.mcall.com/news/nation-world/mc-nws-oregon-mental-health-days-new-law-20190722-4ebo7pbdlrfqbbnooxgt2tb2tm-story.html

NJ Herald: https://www.njherald.com/article/20190721/AP/307219900

KOTA TV (South Dakota): https://www.kotatv.com/content/news/Feeling-blue-Oregon-students-can-take-mental-health-days-1-513011251.html

KDRV News: https://www.kdrv.com/content/news/Oregon-students-can-now-take-mental-health-days-513026471.html

WSB Atlanta: https://www.wsbtv.com/news/national/feeling-blue-oregon-students-can-take-mental-health-days/968883675

The Denver Post: https://www.denverpost.com/2019/07/21/mental-health-days-oregon-students/

Bluefield Daily Telegraph: https://www.bdtonline.com/region/correction-mental-health-day-story/article_7f1d28f1-a032-518f-bb51-85915c8d4777.html

WSBT (Michigan): https://wsbt.com/news/health/teen-activists-score-mental-health-days-similar-to-sick-days-for-oregon-students-1

Courthouse News: https://www.courthousenews.com/oregon-will-let-students-take-mental-health-days/E

Education Week: https://blogs.edweek.org/edweek/rulesforengagement/2019/04/should_mental_health_days_be_excused_absences_these_students_think_so.htmlRegisterRegislater

Register Guard: https://www.registerguard.com/news/20190707/4-changes-coming-to-k-12-schools-after-2019-legislative-session

KPTV (4/22): https://www.kptv.com/news/ore-high-schoolers-push-for-bill-allowing-students-to-call/article_af8c435c-655b-11e9-8aa8-2bfe3679bc4c.html

KATU (2/27): https://katu.com/news/local/blumenauer-backed-bill-aims-to-fight-increased-youth-depression-suicide-rate